Air Conditioning Troubleshooting A/C Blows hot on one side 2002 2003 2004 2005 Thunderbird

biddle

Forum Moderator
Staff member
We're getting a lot of A/C posts on the forum, so I am going to start a thread. I'm not a mechanic, so please feel free to add your suggestions and recommendations for various scenarios. These recommendations below are based upon prior posts on the forum from Ford Thunderbird Owners.

Common Scenarios

- Blows hot on the passenger's side and cold on the driver's side is a frequent one or one side. This is usually the Dual Coolant Control Valve.
Link to order part- http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0001&campid=5338236430&icep_item=223309032603
Installation photos here- https://forums.fordthunderbirdforum.com/threads/2002-dual-coolant-control-valve.6993/post-56530
control-valve.jpg

- Blows Hot on both sides. This can be caused by several things including low refrigerant, bad compressor, etc. The Climate Control Module is also often the culprit. You can either buy a replacement module or there is also a listing for a repair service for the unit. Click here for prices.
s-l1600.jpg

-AC low pressure port location
See below. @312 also posted some good photos on this thread. You can buy Ac Pro 134a refrigerant here which helps seal small gasket leaks.
830_05d9bfd72317b4169dbe5a23f659a805.jpg

If you want to DIY check out this R134a R12 R22 R502 AC A/C Manifold Gauge Set 5FT Colored Hose Air Conditioning
831_93164de4782fa3aef2d995018d3d98ef.jpg
Purchase Link: https://amzn.to/2IyU4gC

2002 2003 2004 2005 Ford Thunderbird Compressor Kits- (Purchase on ebay click here) (Purchase on Amazon click here)
compressorkits.jpg

2002-2003-2004-2005 Ford Thunderbird Evaporator Core
Purchase on Amazon.com click here
Purchase on Ebay Click here
evaporator-core-motorcraft-YK214.jpg

2002-2003-2004-2004 Evaporator Discharge Cabin Air Temperature Sensor
Purchase on Ebay Click Here
YH1504-Evaporartor-Sensor.jpg

Last edited:

05Dave