New 2002 Owner-SUPER Sad Start...(what would you do?)

T
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Well, I'm new to the last generation of Thunderbirds. Found a black 2002 with 120k, 2 owners with good service records. Everything works, interior/exterior really good shape and it was at a price I couldn't pass up. I had been looking to replace my 2004 Mazdaspeed Miata and was looking at the 3rd get Miata's and found this one when looking at a Miata.

Well, pulled the trigger today, drove her home a happy camper. Well, since my wife was out and about when I bought it, I had to go pick her up and take her to the dealer to grab my truck (which I had left to bring the T-Bird home).

Long story short, rainy conditions, and a quick loss of awareness in traffic resulted in me rear ending a Nissan Murano at around 15mph. Damage to them was pretty minimal at least visually. Damage to my T-Bird? buckled hood, cracked driver side fender, headlight is history, deformed the number cover somewhat plus whatever damage lurks below the hood.

So, my question is...would you get it fixed? Insurance is not covering it since I only put liability coverage on it due to the extremely limited miles it was going to see (obviously in hindsight, would've, could've, should've). It's not going to be cheap since body parts aren't exactly plentiful or cheap. I paid 8k for it and felt I got a pretty good deal and am leaning towards fixing it as long as it doesn't exceed 5k.

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Personally, I think it's worth fixing, if the costs can be kept below 5k. I think you got it for a good price. Parts will be hard to find, but I think if you have a good body man, they can fix the dents and wrinkles. There are Salvage yards that sell parts from wrecked Tbirds. Shipping is expensive. Check out local salvage yards.