1. Please sign in or join the Thunderbird club free to access the search page and many other free site features.
    If you forgot your password click here.

Click the "X" to the right to dismiss this notice.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Top 10 Ford Thunderbird Gift List! Click here.

Dismiss Notice

1966 Tbird Inner rear fender removal

Discussion in '1955 - 1966 Classic Ford Thunderbird' started by Mikey78, Oct 16, 2019.

1. Hi guys,

I was trying to remove the rear inner fender on the drive side to get a better view of the steering gear box area. Are there any bolts inside the engine area?

I had all but one removed inside the tire area but the bottom of the fender seemed very tight still. I didn't want to just pull on it. Is there a trick or something I'm missing? Thanks.

2. Hi Mike
    Im no expert but i recently took off the left front to run a new fuel line.
    They are very snug and may seem like glued on from under coating.
    Hope this helps

Mikey78 likes this.
  3. Ok thanks. I'll give it another try tomorrow. It was super tight mostly at the bottom where the fuel and brake line go up under it from the rocker panel area. Thanks.

4. May sound silly but take a picture of everything...just in case you dont put it back on right away

Mikey78 likes this.
  5. I do that sometimes or video . It is always good to have a back up memory so to speak.

6. BigClay

BigClay Well-Known Member Gold Donor

I was trying to remove the rear inner fender on the drive side to get a better view of the steering gear box area. Are there any bolts inside the engine area?

I had all but one removed inside the tire area but the bottom of the fender seemed very tight still. I didn't want to just pull on it. Is there a trick or something I'm missing? Thanks.[/QUOTE]

7. BigClay

BigClay Well-Known Member Gold Donor