1957 leaking coolant at the rear of the engine | Ford Thunderbird forum club group 1955-2005 models
  • We're glad you found us via a search engine! Right now, you can join our club absolutely free and unlock member only features like the site search! This notice only appears once! It only takes 30 seconds to register, and we would love to have you as part of the World's largest Thunderbird Forum/Club! Click here to continue

• Click here to remove google ads from the site
  • Click " Like/Thanks" at the bottom of a member's post to reward and thank them for their response! Points are added to their profile.
  • Get rid of swirls and minor paint surface scratches with this Polish & Compounds kit. Click here to read more!.

1957 leaking coolant at the rear of the engine

• Thread starter Thread starter TJShea
  • Start date Start date
TJShea
Reaction score
Thunderbird Year
Hello. I am still a novice when it comes to these cars, hence my pretty "basic" questions. I parked and noticed a pretty good coolant leak pooling about mid center of the car at the rear of the engine. I checked the heater and there is nothing that indicated that is leaking. I was told during some previous work I had done about 1 year ago that the core was pretty new. I have not been using the heater. Anyway, I checked carpets, etc and no indication of a leak there. It is a pretty good pooling, I do not see any hoses the obviously would have coolant flowing through them anywhere near that area. Looking over the rear of the engine as best I can from the top rear, I could see what appears to be coolant caught in small pools around the rear. it appears that there is coolant around a cover that is on the top of the engine between the heads. Could coolant be flowing below this cover, and because the gaskets have gotten bad, be leaking from there? And if so, does this indicate a much worse problem than just a bad gasket from this cover? I looks to be quite a process to get to this cover that would requir