1957 Pre-purchase questions

C
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
none
I am not currently a T-Bird owner, but I could be soon. The car in question has been in the same family since new. Currently has approximately 45k miles.
Everything on the car is original. I need some help in understanding some of the things I need to check on the car before making this purchase. ie. What would you want to know if you were the guy making this purchase. The current owner recently passed away & his wife is selling the car. She does not know much about the car so it's tough gain the knowledge I need to have. The car has been sitting for 3-4 yrs. The things I know that will require some attention are: new paint, tires, brakes & maybe a new top.

What are some of the trouble areas that these cars have. I am not a mechanic, but I can do the basics. Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• T-Bird.jpg
    T-Bird.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 24

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

@Carver325 For a car that has remained in the family since new..that says a lot. Seven decades of “previous owners” NOT HAVING THE HANDS ON IT usually means you wont find crazy repairs that each owner believed was a good idea. Rust and rot is always a concern for me as I have gotten older because my strength and abilities are changing. I do all of my own restoration and repair work so that’s a big win in my book. I’m not lifting bodies of of frames at my age.

As more of a motorcycle restorer, ( a lot lighter too)I have had bikes from the 1920’s that had parts cut, removed, new ideas that were popular in 1950 or 1973 added or welded on and the rare parts tossed out a long time ago.