1957 manual transmission removal

twstnshout

twstnshout

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Is it possible to remove a 3 speed 1957 overdrive manual transmission without removing the engine or disassembling the transmission while in the car?

The Fordomatic cannot be removed intact without removing the engine. Although your transmission might be smaller, I have no knowledge of it's being removed in one piece for the same reason, in that the frame's X-member prohibits it.

We have a transmission guy who removes the 3 speed Ford-o-Matic by partially disassembling it. I believe he removes the tail piece. Then the rest can be removed.