1957 Generator Light Start to glow dimly When Idling

TJShea

TJShea

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Hello;
Electrical issues are not in my limited skill sets. I am new to having a T-Bird. I just noticed that when at a signal light and idling the generator light will star to glow. I am thinking of switching over to an alternator. Was not sure ifIi had generator issues or this is "normal."

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Hello;
Electrical issues are not in my limited skill sets. I am new to having a T-Bird. I just noticed that when at a signal light and idling the generator light will star to glow. I am thinking of switching over to an alternator. Was not sure ifIi had generator issues or this is "normal."
Maybe you need be to adjust the idling, maybe it's idling too low.. A battery with more cold crank power. Check the timing.

Standard or Automatic??
You may want to check your idle speed (RPM)

the problem as I recall from my youth was in the voltage regulator. I do remember tapping the case at times to free the points and on some you were able to remove the cover and clean or adjust the points

Hello;
That is somewhat normal on an old generator. The brushes get worn and spring are too weak to keep them tight against the armature. You can rebuild cheap or do the alternator swap for reliability.

Thank you all for the info. I certainly appreciate the insights. I do have an automatic. Looks like this is a common thing. Most likely an alternator will be something I should add in the future. I am in the Las Vegas area, and the fellow who had the car before me added an electric fan to the front of the radiator to help with overheating. This may well be drawing quite a bit especially when idling. Thanks again.