1957 Chrome or stainless

C

cscolastico

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I would like to try my hand at buffing and polishing some of the trim on my T Bird. The trim is generally fine but has light scratches that detract from the trim. I am a novice so I am proceeding carefully. Is there any info on what trim pieces are chrome and what are stainless or aluminum? I have the shop and restoration manual. Any tips would also be appreciated.

Thanks

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I would like to try my hand at buffing and polishing some of the trim on my T Bird. The trim is generally fine but has light scratches that detract from the trim. I am a novice so I am proceeding carefully. Is there any info on what trim pieces are chrome and what are stainless or aluminum? I have the shop and restoration manual. Any tips would also be appreciated.

Thanks
Sweet, I'm glad you're willing to take on the task. Windshield and door trim along with tops are stainless, they will shine to like new with patience and time. As you move through the odds and ends you'll see what you're able to purchase(which are chrome). Good luck and remember patience and perservercing will make you king when it's complete

• Like/Thanks
Reactions: JDJ
For brightwork I use four different products. All four work, but some better than others depending on what you're doing.

The first -- ammonia. This is a good cleaner, most effective on small parts that can be removed and cleaned individually. Remember I work mainly with radios, and this is good for bezels, pushbuttons, and knobs. As an aside, plastic knobs and parts can be cleaned with Bleche-Wite. Either one, spray on, clean with a paintbrush, wash off. Just one caveat -- Studebaker. Don't use harsh chemicals on those ivory parts used in Studebaker dashes. Use Windex or a mild soap, washing frequently.