1956 break light only lights when pedal is pushed hard

woodeye

woodeye

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I'm just beginning to know the car. Only had it a few months and just now getting time to work out bugs.
I was told by a driver behind me my break lights didn't work. Upon investigating I found out that on light pressure, as in slowing down gradually, that lights don't light.
I must apply hard pressure to light break lights.
Another thing, the front breaks were converted to disks by previous owner. The pedal is real high, almost no play (slack) at the top of pedal, and you must push very hard to activate the breaks even though I'm told I do have power breaks. The breaks do stop car straight, but only with a lot of pressure.
Any ideas what is going on.
Thanks Jeff

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

“The pressure activated switches are known to fail and may be the cause. Remove the wires from the switch and jump together and if the lights turn on the pressure switch is at fault.

IF wired as "originally designed", the back up lights will not work unless the headlights are on.”

I'm just beginning to know the car. Only had it a few months and just now getting time to work out bugs.
I was told by a driver behind me my break lights didn't work. Upon investigating I found out that on light pressure, as in slowing down gradually, that lights don't light.
Another thing, the front breaks were converted to disks by previous owner. The pedal is real high, almost no play (slack) at the top of pedal, and you must push very hard to activate the breaks even though I'm told I do have power breaks. The breaks do stop car straight, but only with a lot of pressure.
Thanks Jeff