1955 dash cover photos wanted

Y-8

Y-8

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I enlisted a local shop to recover my dash and they made a mess of it. I seek a couple of pictures to show them how it should be finished. I want to show them the "French seam" as it wraps around the end/side and the glove compartment. Any pictures would be greatly appreciated.

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Hi. This is my first time replying to a message on this board so hope I'm doing this correctly. I just took a picture of my 56 dash that I think is what you're looking for but if not let me know and I'll be glad to take more pictures. My 56 is in the garage for the next 5 months at least and I'm doing a bumper to bumper check and revamp since it's been 20 years since I did a complete frame-off so I'm happy to take as many pictures as you'd like.
Hope this helps.
20191214_073406[1].jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I edited your title to summarize your post. "1955 dash cover" could mean anything.
modelyear.jpg

That's a beautiful shot, very inspiring, Thanks!

I have attached a picture of mine, I seek a shot from this perspective. The upholsterer failed to realize that the seam is finished tight and even with the crease not left flopping with glue exposed. I don't remember how the glove compartment is finished but this seems off the mark.

dash 101.jpg

I tried to cover my dash, myself, but after 5 or 6 failed attempts I had a professional do it. It was costing me to much just buying dash covers. I cannot guarantee this is correct, either; but it was someone who had done them before. At least this photo is from a perspective at or below what you've requested. Taking the photo at this angle reveals I have some work to do. My '55 is a 30+ year restoration, and I drive the car, so excuse the dirt and nicks.
IgnoreIMG_4120.jpg