ISO 2002-2005 Owner feedback

T

Tbirdtony49

Click here to upgrade
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
None
Hi,
I am new to the forum. I am a retired aerospace engineer who has restored many old Fords in the past as a hobby. Some of them include a 57 Tbird, 55 Crown Victoria, 65 Mustang coupe and fastback, and 68 Shelby GT500. I'll be 75 in a few days but the classic car hobby is still calling me back. I am thinking of purchasing a 2002 - 2005 Tbird for pleasure drives and car cruises and I would appreciate comments from 2002 - 2005 Tbird owners on the reliability, parts availability, electronics issues, and overall positive or negative thoughts on these vehicles. Thank you.

Tbirdtony
Beaver, PA

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I love my 2003. I think that you should avoid the 2002. They got most of the bugs worked out and the 03-05 are identical. I am a fairly capable mechanic and there is nothing scary about this vehicle except for the plastic engine parts... Be careful changing out the plugs and coils (you will do this frequently). Try to find a 50k to 70k example with the matching hardtop. I am pretty tall and the convertible left a bit to be desired in the headroom department but the hard top was fine. Good luck!

This information you seek is posted throughout the site. Check out the search page and start reading past posts.

One example-

I love my 2003. I think that you should avoid the 2002. They got most of the bugs worked out and the 03-05 are identical. I am a fairly capable mechanic and there is nothing scary about this vehicle except for the plastic engine parts... Be careful changing out the plugs and coils (you will do this frequently). Try to find a 50k to 70k example with the matching hardtop. I am pretty tall and the convertible left a bit to be desired in the headroom department but the hard top was fine. Good luck!