1955 best tires, what was original transmission?

F

FiveFiveTbird

Click here to upgrade
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Hello I’m new to the Thunderbird Forum so bare with me. I actually don’t own a Thunderbird but agreed to work on a friend of mine’s. It’s a 1955 all original along with 41,000 actual miles. First of all it needs a set of tires, and was wandering what would be an original looking set that would be correct for this year? As far as the size of tire and how wide of a white wall? I want an original looking tire but in a radial version. 6.50x 15’s are on it now. Also what motor and transmission would this car come with? I’m guessing a 312 with some kind of 2 speed automatic. The valve covers say “Thunderbird Special” I believe. And one other thing where is the best place to shop for parts for it? Any information would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance!

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Welcome to the forum. When you post, your title is very important. Posting the year and how many miles the car has does not really help other member understand what the post is about prior to clicking on it. I initially thought you were selling a car.

I revised the title for you.