1964 center console restorable?

64TBirdXM

64TBirdXM

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I think I know this answer but is it possible to remove scratches from the center section of the console or does the whole unit need to be replaced?Tbird console.jpg

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I’m no expert but I think you’re going to need a new one. You really have nothing to lose by making an attempt.

I think I know this answer but is it possible to remove scratches from the center section of the console or does the whole unit need to be replaced?View attachment 14869
That’s a piece of anodized aluminum. Take it to a “metal polishing shop”.You will have a hard time finding a “new” one.

That’s a piece of anodized aluminum. Take it to a “metal polishing shop”.You will have a hard time finding a “new” one.
I can't imagine they would get it looking like it did with the same pattern. I would probably have to take all of the pieces so at least they match. I did clean it up and do a light polish and touch up a couple of the worst spot so it looks better but far from perfect.

Also, I’m again looking at your picture, and your car has manual windows. (The power window switches would be on that piece). I think most came with power windows, so you would be really hard pressed to find another of those.....

Here is where it comes to the point of restoration or preservation. We all have scars from life, and there is no way to erase them. Same with our cars. There is a burgeoning movement in the Classic car community that originality and patina is worth more than perfection. Act accordingly.