1957 Mixing Type F Transmission Fluid with Dex/Merc

TJShea

TJShea

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I had some work done on my new to me 57 a couple months ago, which included work that required the automatic transmission to be drained. . I am pretty new to owning a 57 T-Bird, and having a 50's era automatic transmission, so I am a novice on some related things . The repair tech said that "transmission had been worked on" so Dex/Merc transmission fluid would be appropriate, and that is what they used. Previously, I had bought a couple of containers of type F transmission fluid to have on hand. Today, I noticed the transmission to be a little low. Can I add/mix type F with Dex/Merc, or am I just asking to problems in the future. Hate to just waste the Type F, but I surely Ii not want to screw up the transmission over a couple of containers of fluid.

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I had some work done on my new to me 57 a couple months ago, which included work that required the automatic transmission to be drained. . I am pretty new to owning a 57 T-Bird, and having a 50's era automatic transmission, so I am a novice on some related things . The repair tech said that "transmission had been worked on" so Dex/Merc transmission fluid would be appropriate, and that is what they used. Previously, I had bought a couple of containers of type F transmission fluid to have on hand. Today, I noticed the transmission to be a little low. Can I add/mix type F with Dex/Merc, or am I just asking to problems in the future. Hate to just waste the Type F, but I surely Ii not want to screw up the transmission over a couple of containers of fluid.