1957 Fuel leak at fuel filler neck and tank

57txtbird
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Hey all newbie here with a 57 312 D code, I have searched but if I missed please share the link. Recently filled up full with fuel and parked in the garage after. Noticed a strong fuel smell and started inspecting, found the neck was wet at the connection to the tank. Looks like it’s rolling back and eating up the under coating as well. I am wondering is this common and fixable and is the neck or the tank the problem. Or both possibly. All help is appreciated as I try and keep the bird alive. Thanks 282ED8C9-31B8-4CBB-AAC8-71EFD8452E0C.jpeg

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

There is a rubber O ring that goes on the filler neck. Could be bad. The filler neck just pulls out of the tank. O rings are available.

Make sure the fuel is not from filling the tank (spillage) before trying to replace the O ring.

There is a rubber O ring that goes on the filler neck. Could be bad. The filler neck just pulls out of the tank. O rings are available.

Make sure the fuel is not from filling the tank (spillage) before trying to replace the O ring.
Awesome, that makes perfect sense. I will definitely do some further investigating first but I have a feeling you nailed it.

I had this happen to me this last summer. I filled up with fuel and parked in the garage. We had a couple really hot days and going into the garage I smelt fuel. I took the filler cap off and the fuel was all the way to the top and was leaking out of the vent hole in the filler cap. Just maybe your car was overfilled? Maybe your car is low in the back and the fuel is leaking out of the filler cap vent. You said that you just filled up.