1957 8 MPG

I've tracked the MPG on my 57 (automatic with P/S and P/B) since I bought it 6 years ago. It started out at about 10-12 MPG, but after some work (that I didn't do), it's averaged about 14 MPG over the entire 6 years. Added A/C in 2019, but haven't driven it a lot with the A/C on, so can't judge the effect it might have had on the MPG.

BTW, I started using ethanol-free fuel (when possible) about a couple years ago or so. Doubt that this had impacted the MPG, but hopefully will make the fuel system last longer without having alcohol-induced problems.

Last edited:

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I have been using 90 octane, 100% gasoline for over 8 years now. I don't think it has increased my fuel mileage any (13.24 MPG), but I no longer have any hard starting or vapor lock issues. I am fortunate that there are 2 gas stations that sell ethanol free fuel within 5 miles of my house.

doug7740
1955 Thunderbird Blue

Well, Just checked again. 8.8 MPG. Does not smell rich in the exhaust, Runs great But it was a rebuild from the mid 70's. Don't know the specs of the engine or how much over bore was done. Blew a head gasket at 500 miles as I forgot to re-torque the heads after break in and had them planned to make sure.
My engine may be more potent than stock and hence the poor MPG but I'm not complaining.

Are you sure your timing is correct and your mechanical advance is correct. It sounds like your engine is retarded. FYI, I found I could advance my distributor from 6 degrees to 16 or 18 degrees without pinging and that helped response and gas mileage.

Are you sure your timing is correct and your mechanical advance is correct. It sounds like your engine is retarded. FYI, I found I could advance my distributor from 6 degrees to 16 or 18 degrees without pinging and that helped response and gas mileage.