1956 flooding/vacuum issue

Pete G
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I have a 1956 with the original 312 V8 and Holley carb (which was rebuilt a few years ago). She starts up fine and drives beautifully, but after i turn her off, she doesn't want to start back up again unless i let her sit for several hours. I'm thinking it is a flooding or vacuum issue, but i'm not a mechanic and just guessing. Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Can you describe your re-start procedure?
Are you pumping the pedal? Holding it down? Sometimes a hot engine will evaporate the fuel in the carburetor requiring a few pumps. Flooding requires holding the pedal to the floor. So tell us how you try to restart.

Can you describe your re-start procedure?
Are you pumping the pedal? Holding it down? Sometimes a hot engine will evaporate the fuel in the carburetor requiring a few pumps. Flooding requires holding the pedal to the floor. So tell us how you try to restart.
Hi Zero - I usually pump the pedal. I've tried not pumping the pedal, doesn't seem to work, and sometimes holding the pedal to the floor usually eventually works, only after a long period of time.

Hi Zero - I usually pump the pedal. I've tried not pumping the pedal, doesn't seem to work, and sometimes holding the pedal to the floor usually eventually works, only after a long period of time.
Make sure you have the proper gaskets under the carb. Heat soak will boil the carb dry when stopped if too much heat from the manifold is over heating the carb.

If you have to hold the pedal on the floor to get it restarted this may indicate flooding. Why this may be be happening after driving could be heat boil-over), or vapor lock maybe?

Is your fuel filter bowl full after sitting?