1955 Rear Universal Joint ID

C
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I'm pretty new to Thunderbirds, mostly an Austin Healey guy, but volunteered to help a friend get his '55 that arrived in boxes running. I'm close, but have run into a problem with the rear U joint. The one we have has an unusual way of attaching to the rear yoke; not a problem EXCEPT the caps are too small for the rear driveshaft yoke. It does fit the yoke on the differential. The driveshaft wants caps about 1-1/16 in diameter and the ones on our U joint are about an inch. Does anyone know if the type of U joint pictured comes in a larger size, or should we be looking to change the yoke on the diff?

Thanks,

CraigU Joint.jpg

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I'm pretty new to Thunderbirds, mostly an Austin Healey guy, but volunteered to help a friend get his '55 that arrived in boxes running. I'm close, but have run into a problem with the rear U joint. The one we have has an unusual way of attaching to the rear yoke; not a problem EXCEPT the caps are too small for the rear driveshaft yoke. It does fit the yoke on the differential. The driveshaft wants caps about 1-1/16 in diameter and the ones on our U joint are about an inch. Does anyone know if the type of U joint pictured comes in a larger size, or should we be looking to change the yoke on the diff?

Thanks,

CraigView attachment 21143
Your car should use 5-1200X Spicer ujoints with Inside snap rings. Bearing diameter should be 1.062+/-.001" The kit above is not original and has 2 Low Wing Drilled caps that is for a non OEM yoke. If your driveshaft has O/S snap rings, part # 2-7-29 is the part. The inside snap rings are 2-7-99. The ubolt part # is 2-94-28X. Hope that helps.

• Like/Thanks
Reactions: 4VE