Rust Already?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G
Car built week of 12/17. Delivered in Calif last Sat. Sunday I decide that the 7 spoke chrome wheels need "something". I take the center caps off and find moisture in them. On all 4 wheels there is rust on the axles and the wheel right as it joins the axle. I have a lot of experience removing rust, but also HATE rust. I cleaned the rust off and coated the area with grease. I know, you can't see it with caps on, but I still have soe concern about the moisture creating rust when the car is only one month old.
By the way my solution for what the wheels needed was the Thunderbird logo in the middle of the wheel cap painted turqoise matching the emblem on the trunk. Went to hobby store, got paint and I like it!

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

If I am not mistaken, that assembly is made of cast iron. I have noticed in just a days time here in FL (high humidity) that the rotors will show signs of rust. The rust you see on the wheels must be coming from the rotor assembly as the wheels are chromed aluminum.

BTW some else did the same to the Bird logo, I think it was FDCAPTAIN.

Speaking of which, FDCAPTAIN, please rejoin us, you have made your point.

-

"greyfox11: Someone else painted the center also, but we've not seen the results. Any chance of posting a picture of your center caps?"
Can't figure out how to attatch a pic to the reply. Be happy to e mail a pic to anyone interested.