What We Do? What are Our Hobbies?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m an English Professor—Shakespeare--whose first car, in 1960, was a “Bi-Centennial Edition” 1953 Ford 4-door sedan. The “Bi-Centennial Edition” was distinguished by a special horn-ring on the steering wheel, and little else. Trust me, I looked. And looked. And looked. (Honk if you remember horn-rings.)

My hobbies are woodworking, gardening, and computers--especially computer graphics and web page design. I’m only an amateur, but it’s still fun to see what you can make a web-page do. I’m a music and movie freak, with too many hundreds of CD’s (The people at Amazon know me as “One-Click Tom”) and a growing collection of DVD’s. (Hint: The normal hearing loss that starts at age 18 or 19 accelerates as you age. The trade-off is that when you are older you can afford a really terrific Dolby system to overcompensate for the loss.)

My Craftsman-style house was built in 1922, and when I bought it in 1980, it was basically redeemable junk. My Thunderbird looks spectacular in the old Craftsman porte cochere. After 22 years of hard work, I am proud to say that the house is no longer junk, except for the things I did twenty years ago, which now need re-doing.