Manual Transmission

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m new to the game here and need some help understanding why the Tbird does not have a 5-speed manual option. I understand how great the automatic is but have to believe there are buyers out there who would like the ability to shift gears. Are there any plans to make a manual transmission part of the 2003 or 2004? Does this have something to do with drivetrain options on the original Tbird?

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I think you'll find as with a lot of things automotive these days, it probably has to do with the cost of government certification vrs the demand for the option.

I heard that the main motivation behind this decision was historical market trends for the Tbird.

I dont have a confirmation of this, but it apparently less than 20% of Tbirds sold in the past were sold with a manual transmission.

In all of the vintage Birds I have seen, I have only seen 1 with a 3 speed manual transmission, I beleive it was a 56.

With only 25,000 vehicles produced a year and the fact they pulled alot of the technology from the Lincoln LS, there was little motivation to build or assemble a custom package for a car that was just coming onto the market.

Maybe the 2005 model with an anticipated 380hp with a super charger will mark the year a manual transmission will be introduced.

I beleive that ford did produce a 90's version of the Tbird with SC + manual transmission but I may be mistaking.

Originally posted by Erict:
I beleive that ford did produce a 90's version of the Tbird with SC + manual transmission but I may be mistaking.

Year -------- model----- ----auto- --5speed-
1990 Ford Thunderbird SC - 15742 - 6,067
1990 Ford Thunderbird SC 35th Anniversary Edition - 3,371 --
1991 Ford Thunderbird SC - 5,134 - 1,905
1992 Ford Thunderbird SC - 2,956 - 1,256