Help on Order

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mike02redbird

UPDATE EMAIL ADDRESS
OK I’m new to this web forum but I really enjoy it. My only problem is I spend to much time reading all the comments. I need some advise on a few items.

First I have a red/red/partial ordered from my local dealer at msrp, I ordered it 8/2/02. after checking around I have found several dealers within 4 hours that I can get the same car without waiting at msrp or a few $ lower. But I feel a certain loyalty to my dealer (I’ve bought several cars from him) also I question service and other problems I may have with the new bird, would I get better results from the service dept. if it was there car?

Second question, and this is the BIG one, I have always owned a conv. of some type and once I put the top down I leave down in the garage when I’m not driving. I ordered the hard top because I think it looks great however if the streets are clear and I’m driving I can’t imagine that I would not have the top down. I am I just spending $2500 extra for an item that I will never use? I have to store and protect? and am afraid to use because it will scratch my deck? HELP ....HELP

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Several have noted that the top, with its porthole, is a key part of the Thunderbird mystique. People do seem to recognize the car more readily with hard top on. The value of the car later may be higher with the hard top than without.

It may be quite difficult to add the hard top after the fact.

As to the scratches on the top, I have a white bird. If you get the light just right (with the top off) you can see some discoloration where the top seal touches the deck. For me, not enough to worry about.

Just my opinion.

------------------
VIN 106587 White, White, with chrome hood scoop bezel

-