Rear Brake Line 57

valhalla 4771

valhalla 4771

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Checking to see if I'm reading the manual correctly and that the previous owner kluged up a fastener. Area in question is the brake line junction block that is attached to the left half of the rear axle. From this block brake lines feed to each rear wheel. When taking it apart I found the block was attached directly to the axle with a hollow bolt...hollow all the way through. It has a hex head that allows me to screw the bolt into the axle. The hollow bolt then extends another 1/2" above the hex head. There was a homemade cap (not air/liquid tight) crimped on the top end. Looking at the illustrated manual I see a regular old 7/16" 20 x 1" bolt. I thought I better check to verify this hollow bolt has no function, like maybe some sort of inspection peephole into the axle????Seems unlikely, but I'm a total novice....

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

Checking to see if I'm reading the manual correctly and that the previous owner kluged up a fastener. Area in question is the brake line junction block that is attached to the left half of the rear axle. From this block brake lines feed to each rear wheel. When taking it apart I found the block was attached directly to the axle with a hollow bolt...hollow all the way through. It has a hex head that allows me to screw the bolt into the axle. The hollow bolt then extends another 1/2" above the hex head. There was a homemade cap (not air/liquid tight) crimped on the top end. Looking at the illustrated manual I see a regular old 7/16" 20 x 1" bolt. I thought I better check to verify this hollow bolt has no function, like maybe some sort of inspection peephole into the axle????Seems unlikely, but I'm a total novice....

The hollow bolt is the vent for the rear end housing and is suppose to be there.