Plate under Carburetor??

Notice: This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you. Thank you for your support!
Cybrinsanity

Cybrinsanity

Click here to upgrade
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
So I just bought a 1963 Ford Thunderbird, and this is my first restore ever. I'm very new to everything automotive but it's always been a dream of my wife and I to restore an old car and we finally bought one and have started the process. ;)... Anyways I'm rebuilding the carburetor and there is a plate above the manifold and below the carb that has 3 valves on it, I was curious as to what this plate is called and it's function as I need to buy new gaskets for it. Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm sure someone else will know exactly what this plates function is, but it does appear to have water lines attached to it or very large vacuum hoses. If they are water lines, this might be some form of cooling for the carb or water operated choke. My TR8 had water lines that operated the opening of the choke, but those lines are much larger. Anyways, I am now very interested in finding out myself what that plates function is. Good luck with the project.

yeah I'm pretty sure they are water lines, but like I said I'm completely new to this hahah thanks for the reply!! :)

Hey Cybrinsanity, I can't see where the lines go but I don't think they are water lines. The one in the back of the plate should go to the valve cover for the PCV system and the one in the front looks like it is blocked off, it is hard to tell. If it is part of the water system it might be for the heating of the air and fuel as it enters the manifold. If you could send a better picture of the hoses and where they go it would help. Good Luck Rick