92 5.0 Auto Transmission slipping and not catching

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Hi all, any help is appreciated! We gave it a full tranny flush, we replaced the gromit (throttle linkage). I didnt want to replace the tranny but it is looking like that may well be the issue. She was running pretty good and then suddenly the gears wont kick in, when they do, its good. Reverse still works, the others, particularly 1st is just sending out revs and not making it to the wheels. I'm no mechanic, my husband is handy, but we can't figure this out. Is there something simple we might be over looking?

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

I'm new here. But not to Tbirds. I drove my Mamas baby blue 81 Tbird when I first drove. Got an 89 Lx for my first ride. When it started to break down, I upgraded to my 92 Tbird. I still have the 89 around for spare parts as they are similar looking cars but different engines and trannys, Im sure. Im hoping to bring the 92 back as my baby. I want to fix it up and put collectors plates on.

HI your trans has lost first mine has done the same so I'm pulling one from my other SC I'm kinda lucky I've got 5 of these Super coupe Bird's so you're going to have to replace it and don't buy into just replacing the first gear it will only lead to heart-ache down the road cause the rest will be following suit now if you are you can replace them with any 5.0 or 3.8 from a truck mustang to another bird long as the tail of the transmission is of equal length