1988 5.0 running rich, rough idle

alexkol
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
I bought a 5.0 Sport about a month ago and it runs rough at idle and is running rich. Ran the OBD reader and it came back with the codes 14, 22, 23, 29, 31, 41, and 81. No idea where to start, this is my first project car. Wanted to ask if you guys have any ideas of where to start or what to do right now. Thank you!!

Write down the definitions of the codes and start with the farthest upstream. If for example the temp sensor is out it can cause rich/lean O2 sensor readings.

The 88's used a MAP sensor system, 89 and up used the MAF type sensor that everyone uses today. The MAP system isn't as good at adjusting itself as parts wear because it doesn't measure as much stuff in real time and adjust for deviations. I used to have an 88 5.0 mustang and one of the things I did that made it run better at 140K miles was to replace all the fuel injectors.

The 88's used a MAP sensor system, 89 and up used the MAF type sensor that everyone uses today. The MAP system isn't as good at adjusting itself as parts wear because it doesn't measure as much stuff in real time and adjust for deviations. I used to have an 88 5.0 mustang and one of the things I did that made it run better at 140K miles was to replace all the fuel injectors.
I have been working on it with a couple buddies of mine the last couple days, and I think that's what we're gonna end up doing next. The car only stays idle for about two minutes before it surges hard and dies out. It seems like the car is being drowned out by a crazy amount of fuel, so I think we're gonna replace the injectors because a couple might be stuck open. It smokes a LOT, but isn't burning oil or coolant, it seems to be just from the sheer amount of fuel being burned

Last edited:
Write down the definitions of the codes and start with the farthest upstream. If for example the temp sensor is out it can cause rich/lean O2 sensor readings.