1957 Rear Brake and Turn Signal Light Problem

TJShea

TJShea

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
Hello;
I am new to the classic Thunderbird having recently "traded" my 1930 Model A for a 57 T bird. However I have a rear brake light/Turn signal light that has me stumped. The right front & rear turn signals work as does the brake light and tail light. The left is a different story. The front left turn signal works. The left rear tail light works. The left rear brake and turn signal does not. I have cleaned the contacts, changed the bulb and checked the connections I could find....no joy. My electrical experience is pretty dismal so my ideas are pretty thin. Anything else I should try?

In the engine bay, left front fender there is a junction box, all of the lights pass through this, including dash notification lights. Make sure the connections are correct. For this you will need the manual. Perhaps someone can take a picture of there's so you can see the color coding on the wires. This would also help me as the past owner spliced wires that should not be spliced!

In the engine bay, left front fender there is a junction box, all of the lights pass through this, including dash notification lights. Make sure the connections are correct. For this you will need the manual. Perhaps someone can take a picture of there's so you can see the color coding on the wires. This would also help me as the past owner spliced wires that should not be spliced!
Thanks I have just received the 1957 Ford Car Shop Manual...Hopefully that will help.

Take pictures of the front and back sides of the junction box when you get it working, I can use it on mine please.