New stereo fitted to 2002 Thunderbird works with all the systems

I, too, was reluctant to change anything on my 2004 Pacific Coast Special Tbird but the state law changed here in Texas so I really needed the bluetooth for phone calls in my daily driver. I carefully saved the original radio for my grandkids if they ever want to restore it to the car when they inherit it.

Like others, I bought a double din replacement radio, and the facia trim kit, and the harness adapter, and the backup camera. I selected a JVL Kenwood but as an electrical engineer, I know all radios are built from the same hardware items and it is only the features and the firmware, or programming, which varies between a $200 unit and a $2000 unit. On line videos and the owners manual and wiring diagrams and comments on this forum were a big help.