64 TBird stiff brake pedal when off, super soft when on.

Last seen
Thunderbird Year
So I have just completed my latest task of replacing the brake booster and master cylinder, I have a dual bowl master on there currently. Bled all the brake lines today, just finished bleeding them about an hour ago. Brake pedal feels just like it’s supposed to when the car is off, but when started the pedal practically goes right to the floor when you tap it with your foot. The bowls are full, have checked for leaks and there are none, all bleeder screws are tight. Any body have an idea of what this might be?

Does The pedal come back up after you pump it three or four times if it does still air in the system

Does The pedal come back up after you pump it three or four times if it does still air in the system
The pedal does still come back up, that’s kind of what I was thinking but I’m not all that familiar with brake systems. Thank you!

With power brakes the pedal would be very solid (hard) with the car not running. With the car running the power booster would do it's job making the pedal easier to push. Once it's properly bled it should only go down a little and start actuating the brakes. It should only go approximately halfway to the floor at most. If the pedal continues on down further it is possible the rod length may be wrong. If you didn't change anything with the rod my guess would be that you have a defective master cylinder.

The thing is, the brake pedal isn’t even that hard when it’s off. It feels a little softer than it should with the car on and brake booster working, but when the car is on the pedal sinks right to the floor when you touch it. It does come back up, but it’s like stepping on marshmallows.

The bellows in your brake booster may be the problem it might have to be replaced.

I'm no mechanic, I usually leave brakes to the professionals. Too important for me to to play with..... stopping is important!