Interested in purchasing 1957 Project

I

IronHorseDriver

Click here to upgrade
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
none
Hello Folks,

Newbie here. I've had an interest in the early-model "Early Bird" T-Birds for some time now, and recently got a lead on a 1957 "barn find" project. It is a "D" code (312 c.i., 245HP) with a Ford-O-Matic automatic, power steering and power brakes. According to the owner, it has been sitting in storage for over 30 years, and he never got around to working on it.

As for the body, not much rust except on one of the rocker panels (don't yet know if it is rusted through), the bumpers will need to be rechromed, the fender skirts are missing, and there is a small dent in the nose. A close-up inspection that I hope to do this week will reveal the condition of the frame and underbody. The fiberglass top appears OK.

The interior is not too bad but obviously the carpets will need to be replaced and the seats will be reupholstered. The dashboard has a crack in the vinyl.

As for the engine, according to the owner (and pictures he sent me) the engine is disassembled and most parts are in the trunk with the exception of the block which is on a stand.

I have a number of questions for people on this forum. First, when I go to look at it, are there any areas I should pay close attention to? I plan on bringing a jack and jack stands so I can take a good look at the frame and underbody. Are there any particular areas that are prone to rust-through and/or damage? As for the bumpers, they appear to have surface rust, presuming there is no rust through what I can expect to pay to have each one rechromed?