Disc brake conversion on my 63 Tbird.

Cybrinsanity

Cybrinsanity

Click here to upgrade
Last seen
Thunderbird Year
So when I purchased my 63 Tbird, from the previous owner, he was in the middle of converting the old drum brakes to disc, by using a 78 LTD's Disc brakes, and being that it has a bit longer lower control arm, will I need to replace the strut rods and stabilizer bar as well as the tie rod? Sorry I'm very new to cars and am just trying to learn as much as possible. thank you.

This site contains affiliate links for which I may be compensated. As an eBay Partner, and Amazon Associate I may be compensated if you make a purchase at no cost to you.

So when I purchased my 63 Tbird, from the previous owner, he was in the middle of converting the old drum brakes to disc, by using a 78 LTD's Disc brakes, and being that it has a bit longer lower control arm, will I need to replace the strut rods and stabilizer bar as well as the tie rod? Sorry I'm very new to cars and am just trying to learn as much as possible. thank you.
I'm confused. From what you said I assume you are changing out the lower control arms in this mod you are doing. If you put longer control arms on the car isn't it going to change your ability to adjust camber when doing a front end alignment? Many conversion kits I have seen do not require changing the control arms (upper or lower). They install a spindle for the disc conversion and move forward from there.

hmm, ok, well like I said I really don't know anything about cars and am learning as I go, The guy I bought the car from simply said that he was going to do a disc brake conversion with the 78 LTD's and that it would be longer and all I would need to do is redo the brake lines, but maybe I shouldn't even bother using these LTD's and just get a new kit?